FAQs

Dating Safety

Dating Safety Tips

Report a Concern

You can report a concern by navigating to a user’s profile tapping the three dots and selecting report a concern. Select the option that best represents your concern and submit. We take our communities safety seriously. Please report bad behavior, inappropriate photos and scammers. All reports are anonymous and your identity will not be shared with the person you are reporting.

Block a Member

To Block a member, navigate to the user’s profile tap the three dots and tap block member. When a member is blocked, you will no longer see that person in your matches and your communication with that member will be deleted. Additionally you will no longer be visible to the person you blocked.

Unblock a Member

Blocking a member is permanent. Once a member is blocked, you may not unblock them.

Photos and Profiles

How to Upload a Photo

Photos can be uploaded from Facebook, your device or you can take a selfie on the fly.

To upload a photo:

How to Delete a Photo

Why was my Photo Removed?

Your photo was reviewed and did not meet our apps photo requirements. You can upload a new photo that meets our guidelines.

Photo Dos & Don’ts

Think before you post. Posting an inappropriate photo is grounds to be banned.

Photo Dos

Photo Don’ts

Communication

How to Send a Message

Before you can send a message, you will need to show interest in each other by sliding right. Once there is a mutual match you can start chatting. To start a conversation, tap the chat icon in the top nav, tap the person’s photo and send a message.

Matches

How to Delete a Connection
To delete a connection, long press on the profile photo of the connection you would like to delete and tap Delete Connection.

How to Delete Conversation
To delete a conversation, slide the conversation to the left and tap delete.

My Match Disappeared
Sounds like the person may have unmatched with you, or deleted their account.

Support

Need additional help or want to tell us how much fun you are having with Upward? Send us a line! Any support related questions, comments, or feedback can be emailed to contactus@support.upward-app.com.

Access and Settings

How to logout

How to Delete My Account

Can I change my phone number?

Upward doesn’t currently allow members to change the phone number associated with their accounts.

If you have verified a phone number for your account, anybody with access to that phone number can access your account. So, if you plan to change your phone number, we recommend deleting your Upward account before you lose access to your current number.

We're working towards creating an account recovery process, which will allow you to change your phone number or log in credentials, in the future.

For your safety and security, please submit a request to our team if you need help deleting your account or if you would like us to delete the profile associated with your old phone number.

Can’t Login / My App Crashed

This is probably temporary, so check back later. If you are still having trouble, try reinstalling the Upward app. To reinstall, delete the app then download the app again. As long as you do not delete your account this will not affect your matches.

How do I request a copy of my personal data?

At Upward, we are committed to protecting your data and privacy as well as providing you access to the information you have provided us.
We are currently receiving higher call volumes and are working hard to answer each call as quickly as possible while caring for the health and safety of our team members. For a quicker response, please contact us through email.
If you would like to request a copy of your personal data, please contact us at contactus@support.upward-app.com and someone will get back to you within 48 hours.

The information you will receive through this request is largely already available to you through the web site/app and may vary, depending on the way you have used Upward.

If you have deleted your Upward account, you will not be able to access this data, as you no longer have an account on Upward. After you have deleted your account, your data is disposed of in accordance with our privacy policy.

Why we share across Match Group Companies

To support daily business and technical operations
Operating Upward involves a lot of daily business and technical operations, including hosting data securely, providing you good customer care support, operating advertising and marketing campaigns, understanding what users like or dislike about our services so we can make them better, performing research and development, facilitating payments, managing revenue and accounting, fighting against spam, abuse, fraud and similar harmful behaviors, and others. We share information about you with affiliated companies so they can help us perform some of these daily operations as our service providers.
To help keep you and others safe
We share and receive information about you with/across Match Group companies to aid us in our efforts to keep you safe. This enables us to do things like:
To provide features across Match Group
Depending on the service you use and the country you’re in, we might offer some features involving other Match Group Brands. For instance, in order to improve your chances at building significant connections with others, we may show your profile on other Match Group services or allow you to benefit from other cross-platform functionalities. We will of course comply with applicable law and, where relevant, notify you of any such opportunity and allow you to agree or to refuse.
To personalize your experience on Match Group services (only applies to users of OkCupid, Plenty of Fish, Match, Stir, BLK, Upward and Chispa, located in the USA, excluding Utah, California, Colorado, Connecticut and Virginia)
If you’re using more than one Match Group service, sharing your information with other Match Group companies allows us to personalize your experience across these services. This personalization includes:
To help promote Match Group’s services (only applies to users of Okcupid, Plenty of Fish, Match, Stir, BLK, Upward, Chispa and The League, located in the USA, excluding Utah, California, Colorado, Connecticut and Virginia)
Like other online providers, Match Group companies run ads promoting their services on third party platforms like Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, TikTok and others. To power this marketing effort and target it at the right audience, companies typically share identifiers of existing members with the third party platforms on which they run ads, to either exclude these members from their marketing campaigns, or to target their ads at them or at an audience that is similar to them in terms of background, interests or app usage. Your identifiers can be used and shared as laid out above to promote Upward and other Match Group services. As an example, we may enable another Match Group company whose service is highly engaged with by the single parent, the Black or the LGBTQ+ communities may run ads on Facebook to an audience that was created using identifiers of our single parents, Black or LGBTQ+ members.
To understand how people use Match Group services (only applies to users located in the USA)
Sharing information helps us understand how people use Match Group services, for instance by more accurately counting the number of unique registered, active or paid users across Match Group services, how many Match Group services they use on average, how people go from one to the other, and how usage patterns might differ.